The National Technical University of Ukraine “Igor Sikorsky Kyiv Polytechnic Institute” (Igor Sikorsky Kyiv Polytechnic Institute) was founded more than 100 years ago on an initiative of scientific-technical circles and entrepreneurs of Russia and Ukraine in response to needs of industry of the Southern West of the country which developed rapidly at the end of XIX century. There are 20 educational departments, 9 educational-research institutes, 12 research institutes and 13 other scientific subdivisions (design bureaux, engineering centres). 58 Academicians and Correspond
ing Members of Academies of Sciences, 2 000 Professors, Associate professors, assistants work, 40 500 students study at the University. Among them there are 1 500 foreign students from 43 countries and 500 postgraduates including citizens of other countries. The lives and activities of the renowned scientists – V.M.Kyrpychov, K.A.Timiryazyev, M.Ye.Zhukovsky, D.I.Mendeleyev, I.I.Sikorsky, S.P.Tymoshenko, S.P.Korolyov, B.Ye.Paton, V.M.Chelomey, A.M.Lyulka, M.P.Kravchuk, S.V.Serensen and others were closely linked with our university. In the University territory there are students polyclinic, Palace of culture and arts, sports complex . The University has
a special Preparatory Department for foreign students, where applicants during 10 months study Mathematics, Physics, Informatics, Biology, Chemistry and other subjects necessary for further mastering of the university program. Training is conducted in Ukrainian, Russian or English. NTUU "KPI" cooperates fruitfully with 101 technical universities from 38 countries of the world, international organizations ( EC, CU, UNDP, UNESCO, UNIDO, WIPO, NATO, EDNES, ICSU, CODATA, Salzburg Seminar); well-known firms (MOTOROLA, SIEMENS, FESTO, SAMSUNG, INTEL and others), takes part in international education and scientific projects and programs. NTUU "KPI" was among the first universities of Ukraine that joined the community of the European Universities, and signed the Magna Charta of the European Universities (“Magna Charta Universitatum”) in September 2003.
Institute for Energy Saving and Energy Management (IEE) within the Igor Sikorsky Kyiv Polytechnic Institute was established in 1997 as a result of the Joint Order by the State Committee for Energy Conservation and the Ukrainian Ministry of Education (No. 137/45, dated 07/05/97). This Order defines the IEE as a basic energy management training institution in the country. The main tasks of the IEE are: creation and promotion of "energy awareness" in various aspects of human life and production activity; training, professional skills improvement and retraining of specialists in the field of energy management; development, continuous improvement and dissemination of methodology and information materials in schools, universities, industrial enterprises and organisations in other sectors of economy. The Ukrainian Ministry of Education has issued the license to the IEE, approving educational work in the following fields: energy management; energy audit;monitoring and targeting of energy use; information technology in energy use;energy conservation inspection. IEE fully occupies the Building No. 22 of the University (7 floors, 19000 sq.m) and provide training for 1600 students.
Automation Control of Electrotechnical Systems (ACES) Department was founded in 1967 for training engineers in area of automation control of mining equipment. Now the department of ACES specializes in the preparation of masters, bachelors and Ph.D in electromechanics, automation systems and electric drives for electrical equipment.
КПІ ім. Ігоря Сікорського розташувався неподалік від центру Києва. Університет має 23 академічні будівлі, 22 гуртожитки, серед яких 3 для одружених студентів, спортивний центр з басейном, що відповідає олімпійським стандартам, Бібліотека вміщує близько 3 млн. томів, культурний Центр, дитячий садок, 2 їдальні та об'єкти відпочинку (Чорноморський район), Медичний центр для студентів, Центр охорони здоров'я та 43 кафе.